Monday 30 October 2017

Guest Blog post from Danica Davidson

As part of The Danica Davidson #BooksForMinecrafters BLOG TOUR,
the author has dropped by.

Welcome Danica by checking out her post! :)

The genres of fantasy, sci-fi and horror let you explore wherever your imagination takes you. They can also allow you to talk about real issues from our world, because sometimes the incredible elements of these genres allow you to reflect back on what is happening from a safe distance. I try to do all of the above with my series Overworld Adventures and its spinoff, Overworld Heroes. 

The books take place as if Minecraft is a real world. 11-year-old Stevie, who feels he doesn’t really fit in, accidentally finds a portal to Earth. It takes him through the computer of an 11-year-old girl named Maison, and the two become fast friends and co-adventurers. Anyone familiar with the mega popular game Minecraft will know it’s full of different worlds and creatures, and many of these show up in the various ventures the kids take, from their journey to the End to their battles against zombies, armed skeletons and creepers. 

At the same time, there is some real world stuff. When Stevie and Maison meet, Maison is having trouble fitting in at her new school. No one seems to be aware of her smarts or creativity, and some eighth grade boys like to bully her. Following books take up the subject of cyberbullying as cyberbullies hack into Maison’s computer and let themselves into Minecraft, turning it into a world of eternal darkness. Cyberbullying is a reality many of us know well, but the fantasy, sci-fi and horror elements of these books let me talk about it in a way that isn’t preachy or boring. The books are full of cliffhanger chapter-endings, so it’s my aim to keep kids turning the pages for the adventure while understanding that if they’re cyberbullied, they’re not alone and there are things that can be done about it. Stevie, who is not from this world, is fascinated by how the internet can be used for both good and harm, and I hope that’s a message we can all remember, no matter what our age is. 

The first six books – Escape from the Overworld, Attack on the Oveworld, The Rise of Herobrine, Down into the Nether, The Armies of Herobrine and Battle with the Wither — make up the Overworld Adventure series, and a box set of it is coming out on November 7. That same day, the first book in my spinoff series, Adventure Against the Endermen, comes out. Stevie and Maison will be going on new adventures and fighting new villains, but I keep up with blending fantasy, sci-fi and horror with real stuff kids go through. Sometimes the most fantastic stories can hit the closest to home.

Thanks for stopping by, Danica!

If you're into Minecraft, this sounds like an interesting book.

No comments:

Favorites More